Jazz Record Center

Bobby Hutcherson - Dialogue - Blue Note/Elemental


Blue Note/Elemental

Dialogue is an album by jazz vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson, released on the Blue Note label in 1965. This was Hutcherson's first LP released as bandleader (an earlier session, The Kicker, has since been issued on CD by Blue Note) following work with Eric Dolphy. Featured are four Andrew Hill compositions ("Catta", "Les Noirs Marchant", "Ghetto Lights", and "Jasper"), and two Joe Chambers pieces ("Idle While" and "Dialogue").

The Penguin Guide to Jazz awarded it the maximum five stars, as well as the special "crown" accolade in the first and second editions. They write: "Dialogue stands head and shoulders above [Hutcherson's other classic Blue Note dates]. Drawing on some of the free-harmonic and -rhythmic innovations developed on Eric Dolphy's Out to Lunch (on which Hutcherson played), he began to develop a complex contrapuntal style that involved parallel melodies rather than unisons and complex rhythmic patterns which he conceived... as focal points round which the musicians operated."[2] Allmusic's Steve Huey gave the album five stars as well saying: "Dialogue remains Hutcherson's most adventurous, "outside" album, and while there are more extensive showcases for his playing, this high-caliber session stands as arguably his greatest musical achievement".

"Catta" is the most conventional (as drummer Chambers said in the liner notes; "conventional?")[3] piece in an 8/4 latin style. "Idle While" is a lyrical waltz provided by Chambers. "Les Noirs Marchant", meaning "The Blacks' March" is a militaristic style free song dedicated to the civil rights movement.[3] "Dialogue" is the most free in nature, with an ominous opening phrase played by Hutcherson, before the others proceed to abandon the idea of a solo. "Ghetto Lights" was written whilst Bobby was at Hill's house and was inspired by a tune played by Hill's wife, Laverne. As Hutcherson recounted, "...some of her tunes had a real ghetto feel...".[4] "Jasper" was originally released on the 1968 record Spiral.

Track listing "Catta" (Hill) - 7:19 "Idle While" (Chambers) - 6:37 "Les Noirs Marchant" (Hill) - 6:41 "Dialogue" (Chambers) - 9:59 "Ghetto Lights" (Hill) - 6:16 "Jasper" (Hill) - 8:29 Bonus track on CD reissue

Personnel Bobby Hutcherson - vibraphone (all), marimba (3,4,6). Sam Rivers - tenor saxophone (1,6) soprano saxophone (5), bass clarinet (4), flute (2,3) Freddie Hubbard - trumpet Andrew Hill - piano Richard Davis - double bass Joe Chambers - drums

Add to Cart:

  • Model: Bobby Hutcherson Dialogue

Copyright © 2017 Jazz Record Center.